The Amazon

The Amazon is the largest tropical forest in the world and also the most biologically diverse one.  Sixty per cent (60%) of the Amazon is located within the Brazilian territory.

The total Amazon Fores tarea extends over 6 million square kilometers.  It encompasses the entire North Brazil, South Venezuela andColombia, and North Peru and Bolivia.

The ‘Legal Amazon’ is a Brazilian administrative region created by Law # 5,173/66; it comprises the entire territories of the states of Acre, Amazonas, Roraima, Rondonia, Pará, Amapá, Mato Grosso and Tocantins, plus part of the state of Maranhão.

The Amazon features dense forests, savannas and flooded forests (igapó) permeated by rivers.  According to recent surveys, the Amazon shelters at least 40,000 plant species, 427 mammals, 1,294 birds, 378 reptiles, 427 amphibians, and around 3,000 fish species.  The Amazonian rivers contain approximately 20% of the global freshwater, and its forests provide relevant storage for greenhouse gases causing global warming.

The protected areas with Arpa support are located in the states of Acre, Amazonas, Roraima, Rondônia, Pará, Amapá, Mato Grosso and Tocantins.