Types of Protected Areas supported by Arpa

The following types of PAs, in each category, are supported by Arpa:

Strict protection:
• National Park (Parna), State Park (Parest) or Municipal Park
• Biological Reserve (Rebio)
• Ecological Station (EE)

Sustainable Use:
• Extractive Reserve (Resex)
• Sustainable Development Reserve (RDS)

Strict protection areas are intended for maintaining the ecosystems free from changes caused by human interference, and the indirect use of its natural attributes is the only use allowed.

Sustainable use areas are meant to conciliate nature conservation with sustainable use of part of its natural resources.

For a complete list of all types of Protected Areas in Brazil, please refer to the National Protected Areas System (SNUC) Law # 9,985/2000.